Jeffrey S. Morris




  • Myrto Lefkopoulou Distinguished Lectureship, Harvard University School of Public Health, 2011: "The lectureship was established in perpetuity in memory of Dr. Myrto Lefkopoulou, a faculty member and graduate of Harvard School of Public Health. Dr. Lefkopoulou tragically died of cancer in 1992 at the age of 34 after a courageous two-year battle. She was deeply beloved by friends, students, and faculty. Each year the Myrto Lefkopoulou Lectureship is awarded to a promising statistician who has made contributions to either collaborative or methodologic research in the applications of statistical methods to biology or medicine, and/or who has shown excellence in the teaching of biostatistics. Ordinarily, the lectureship is given to a statistician who has earned a doctorate in the last fifteen years. The lecture, entitled "Looking Beyond the Lamppost: Bringing Light into the Dark Alleys of Complex Data", will be presented to a general scientific audience on Thursday, September 16, 2011.  Previous recipients of the Lefkopoulou Memorial Lectureship have been David Dunson, Xihong Lin, Heping Zhang, Francesca Dominici, Jianqing Fan, Mark van der Laan, Geert Molenberghs, Marie Davidian, Danyu Lin, Bradley P. Carlin, Steven N. Goodman, Ronald Brookmeyer, Michael Boehnke, Trevor Hastie, Hans-Georg Mueller, Giovanni Parmigiani, Kathryn Roeder, and Louise Ryan.

  • Fellow, American Statistical Association, 2011: "The designation of Fellow has been a superlative honor in ASA for more than 90 years. According to the association by-laws, each year the Committee on Fellows can elect no more than one-third of one percent of the total ASA membership as Fellows. Individuals are nominated for the honor by fellow members and, to be selected, must have an established reputation and made outstanding contributions in some aspect of statistical work. The Committee on Fellows evaluates candidates' contributions to the advancement of statistics, giving due weight to publications, the positions held by the candidates in the organizations in which they are employed, activities within the association, membership and accomplishments in other societies, and other professional activities."

  • H.O. Hartley Award, Texas A&M University Department of Statistics, 2009: "The H. O. Hartley award is given annually to a former student of the Department of Statistics for distinguished service to the discipline of statistics. The award is in honor of Professor H. O. Hartley who founded the Institute of Statistics in 1962. Hartley was a pioneer and leader in the development of the theory and real world applications of statistics. The intent of the Hartley award is to provide recognition to former students that reflect the Hartley tradition of outstanding service to the discipline in the broadest sense."


Gottefried E. Noether Young Scholar Award, American Statistical Association, 2005:"The Noether Young Scholar Award will be given each year to an accomplished young researcher. This award will be made to foster, encourage and support both research and teaching in nonparametric statistics. The Noether Young Scholar will deliver an invited lecture the year after the award and will be asked to report of research performed since receiving the award."


  • Thomson Essential Science Indicators New Hot Paper in Computer Science, 2005: "Every two months, Essential Science Indicators lists a new crop of what it calls hot papers in science. Hot papers are selected by virtue of being cited among the top one-tenth of one percent (0.1%) in a current bimonthly period. Papers are selected in each of 22 fields of science and must be published within the last two years. Because the hot papers are updated every two months, new papers are added with every update, and Special Topics tracks these new additions.  Special Topics highlights the most-cited of these new entries, one from each field, which are, in addition, not more than one year old. Since new hot papers are very recent scientific contributions that are receiving recognition during a current period, they may signal important new trends in research and serve as leading indicators of scientific advance."


  • MD Anderson Cancer Center Faculty Scholar Award, 2004: Given to three faculty at MD Anderson Cancer Center annually "to  recognize an outstanding Assistant Professor (tenure track with a minimum  of  three years in rank)*, or an Associate Professor (tenure track or  with tenure, and no minimum time in rank requirements)*.  The candidate should  be early in his/her career path and exhibit outstanding ability and excellence in research, education, patient care, or prevention.




  • Best Presentation, CAMDA 2003: "Identification of prognostic genes, combining information across different studies and oligonucleotide arrays," a paper by Assistant Professors Jeffrey S. Morris, Guosheng Yin, Keith A. Baggerly, and Li Zhang, and Graduate Research Assistant Chunlei Wu, was chosen as the winning entry in the 2003 Critical Analysis of Microarray Data (CAMDA) Competition.  The competiting entries are judged through an international conference on data analysis for microarray technology that is held annually at Duke University. This award represents the third winning submission in as many years for researchers in bioinformatics and biostatistics at M. D. Anderson.


Free Web Template by Hoover Web Design